Some random thoughts on blogging

So I recently discovered that a mom I “know” through an online community, and whose blog I happened upon recently, reads another blog I adore. What a small world, huh? Isn’t it funny how this whole autism blogging thing brings together all of us who would ordinarily have no idea the others existed. Ok, maybe it’s just me. I thought it was kinda cool.

So when I noticed the other day just how long it’s been since I blogged last (sorry ’bout that), it got me thinking a lot about my blog. So I have a little poll for you:

  1. Why did you decide to start a blog? Was there one you read that got you interested? Did you have something you just HAD to get off your chest? What was your catalyst?
  2. Do your family and friends know about your blog? Do you let them read it? Have you ever wished they didn’t?
  3. What is your favorite thing about blogging?
  4. What is your favorite thing about your favorite blog?

Ok, enough nosy questions from me. I’m just trying to gauge how weird I am, LOL.

3 Comments

  1. July 1, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    Hey Steph!

    My hubby and I realized recently through comments you posted on my blog (About the zoo) that we probably live fairly close together. Interesting huh? SD and I live very close to The Knob by the PINE trees. How about you? (My husband thought of the clue..I didn’t get it at first:o) I was like ..Huh?

    Good luck on the new blog title…It’s such a personal choice, but it’s hard to find the right words sometimes.

    As for your questions..

    I started over a year ago after reading Injecting Sense, MOM-NOS and Octoberbabies’ blogs. The ring was only 14 people then. Can you believe it?

    Only a few people I know read my blog and no one in my family outside of SD know I have one.

    My favorite thing about blogging is the amazing people and friends that I have made. I would not have been able to shoulder all of this alone.

    My favorite thing about my blog is letting go of all the stress and leaving it out in the blog world. It can be a lot to carry around. I also love that I have written a memoir of sorts about Gabe. It sheds a wonderful light on how far we have come :o)

    How about you?

    Kristin

  2. Steph said,

    July 1, 2006 at 1:53 pm

    I had been wondering where you were! We live where the River is Red (it’s a little tougher of a clue, but I’m sure you’ll get it, lol). If you’re ever up for a playdate, we’re all for it. =]

    The first blog I ever read is called Blog from a Broad. Her writing was so funny that I was hooked. I spent one afternoon just randomly searching through blogs until I had a small list of ones I liked. I read them for about a month before I really wanted to write my own, though.

    No one knows about my blog. I think DH probably knows I have one, but he doesn’t know where, and I like it that way. You may have noticed I like to complain about him alot on here. LOL I actually changed the name once because he read over my shoulder when I was publishing a post and saw the address.

    My favorite thing about blogging is the comments. Some days you just need a little validation that you are not the worst mom in the world, or that the universe will not grind to a halt if I take a day off from the laundry.

    My favorite thing about my blog is that I can gripe about things that I feel guilty about griping about. I love my kids, and don’t want them to hear me complaning about them, but somedays you just need to vent.

    My favorite thing about my favorite blog is that she is a lot more open than I am. She swears, she criticizes, and she’s hillarious. I don’t feel comfortable expressing myself that freely, but wish I could. So I live vicariously and try to loosen up a bit, lol.

  3. July 2, 2006 at 12:44 am

    I don’t think the questions are nosy! You’re Good…You’re Good…
    Let’s answer!

    1. I think I credit enough of my wanting to blog on my own blog to Kristin (Mom to Mr. Handsome). At a time when I was reaching out for answers and support I stumbled upon her blog. I read one or two of her postings and thought that her son and mine were A LOT alike. And isn’t that the truth? We all seek out other parents dealing with not just Autism but, with children that resemble our own. Someone else who might be able to validate for us that we’re on the right track or that we’re approaching things similarly. Maybe we want to hear the success story so that we continue to have hope that ours will be as great.

    I don’t know

    I could be blowing air out my butt!

    So after I found Kristin and Gabe I spent the next 4 days reading every single post until I was caught up and felt worthy enough to comment and become apart of the blogging community.

    I thought (of myself and to myself) I’m witty, full of charisma, I love writing….sure what the hell why not? So, I started my blog.

    2. All of my friends and family know that I have the blog because apart of me decided that communicating with the masses would make it easier on me when they asked the day old question, “So, how is Aiden?” I should have never told anyone because I ranted and raved about them within the first 2 months. So, much that I cut off a bunch of people, moved my blog, changed the address, and only invited the worthy ones. I’m so sneeky….but, I was hurt. I went through a phase of trying to understand why they didn’t understand or why they wouldn’t even try. I’ve got a couple of battle wounds from that experience ones that I know will take a very long time to heal.

    3. I love that I have Aiden’s journey and the play by play down where I know that those moments of joy, dissapointment, excitement, confusion, and anger, show where we’ve been. Where I’ve been. I’m nostalgic that way. Scapbooks, time capsules, memories. Perhaps I think I may need to re-visit some of those moments in order to continue on through the new ones? Maybe I secretly hope, one day my son will ask me and want to know what it was like, “Back then”. I have a blog binder with each entry printed out so I can answer that question.

    4. My favorite thing about everyone’s blog is hearing about a moment we can all relate to and then offering great support to each other.

    Thanks for asking STEPH! Good luck with the new name.


Leave a Reply

