Progress

I went to Reed’s Parent-Teacher conference this afternoon. I’ve been looking forward to it ever since I signed up at the beginning of the school year. I love the staff at Reed’s school, and they always go out of their way to accent the positives during conferences. It’s about the only time I am guaranteed at least some good news in a meeting about one of the kids.

Today was no exception. His wonderful teacher greeted us at the door, and chatted with Reed and Owen while I filled out a survey. They she pulled out his test scores, homework pages, and notes. She started telling me what a joy he is to teach. How he is surprising her every day with his accomplishments. How well he gets along with the other kids in the class. He is social, engaging even. Wow! Then she pulled out the results of his reading tests.

He is reading between 6th and 7th grade level.

Yes, you read that right. My just-turned-six-year-old first grader is reading at a junior high level. His comprehension is lagging behind that a bit, but at a 3rd – 4th grade level is clearly not something to be concerned about. Her biggest concern is keeping him challenged. There aren’t many books she can offer him that will challenge his reading ability, without the subject matter being way over his head.

If I don’t watch out, he’s going to be smarter than me before middle school.

1 Comment

  1. Kristin said,

    November 14, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    Holy Cow! WOW! With comprehension too?! Sometimes kids can read way beyond their age, but lack comprehension. But Reed comprehends at a 3rd /4th grade level? Amazing! I can see the bumper sticker now…

    Proud parent of the next Nobel Peace Prize winner.

    Kristin


Leave a comment